Anambra: Gov. Obiano Appoints 5 New Commissioners

imageGovernor Willie Obiano of Anambra has appointed five new commissioners to assist in steering the affairs of the state.

Those appointed are Mr Okey Moka (Finance), Mrs Gladys Ilobi (Special Duties), Mr Afam Mbanefo (Agriculture), Mr Frank Offor (Housing and Urban Development) and Dr Uju Nwogu (Information, Culture and Tourism).

Administering oath of office on the appointees on Monday in Awka, the Director of Civil Litigation, Mr Emeka Ike, explained that the appointment was in accordance with the provision of Sections 190 and 194 of the Constitution of the country.

The governor, on his part, congratulated the appointees, urging them to see their appointments as a privilege and call to serve the people.
“Serving under this administration is an honour to those of you who have been sworn in and we look up to you to assist in moving the state forward.

“What you have just signed is your job specifications, with time frame for performance monitoring.

“So you will only stay as part of the team if you are found worthy,” Obiano said.

Responding on behalf of the commissioners, Nwogu expressed gratitude to the governor for finding them worthy to serve the state, promising to key into the tempo of development strides.

She pledged their dedication in ensuring the success of the Obiano administration’s four pillars of development in the areas of agriculture, oil and gas, trade and commerce as well as industrialisation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *