BREAKING: Saraki Swears In Lawan, Akume, Other APC Senators

image…As Tinubu’s wife snubs the Senate President at swearing-in of pro-Lawan senators

Senators who stayed away from Tuesday’s inauguration of the national assembly have finally been sworn in by the new senate president, Bukola Saraki. Remi, wife of Bola Tinubu, refused to shake hands with Saraki after her swearing-in on Wednesday morning, leaving his hand hanging and muttering some words to the senate president in a low tone. Saraki had on Tuesday outwitted Tinubu-backed candidate, Ahmad Lawan, in the race for the nation’s No. 3 position. However, other newly sworn-in senators‎ shook hands with the senate president. Lawan, who was the preferred APC candidate, and George Akume, who was the preferred deputy, were both sworn in on Wednesday morning. Twenty-six other senators-elect were also sworn in‎. Some of them include APC senators Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa) Bukar Abba Ibrahim (Yobe), Gbenga Ashafa (Lagos), Olusola Adeyeye (Osun), Isiaka Adeleke (Osun), Shehu Sani (Kaduna) and Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos). The senate thereafter went into a closed-session at 10:58 am. They were absent at the inauguration as the ruling party had called for an emergency meeting simultaneously. APC had, in a press statement on Tuesday evening, instructed the absentee senators to report for the traditional swearing-in.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *