Buhari Nominates Buratai, Olonisakin, Other Ex-service Chiefs As Non-career Ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated the immediate past service chiefs and the chief of defence intelligence as non-career ambassadors-designate.
Presidential spokesman Femi Adesina disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

In a letter to the Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Buhari said: “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.
“The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (retd), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (retd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (retd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (retd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (retd).”

The statement said the president urged the Senate to give “expeditious consideration to the nominations.”
Buhari had on January 26 accepted the resignation of the former service chiefs and appointed new ones to take over.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *