Chris Uba Drags INEC, PDP To Supreme Court Over Anambra Nomination List

imageAll is not yet well with the list of nominated candidates for the 2015 general elections in Anambra state for the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), with the latest being that State chapter of the party led by Chief Ejike Oguebego, chairman, and Chuks Okoye as the Legal Adviser have on on behalf of themselves and others including Chief Chris Uba who is the Anambra South Senatorial candidate to the Supreme Court.

They filed Notice of Appeal, Motion for stay of proceedings as well as the Motion for abridgment of time on the above Appeal as filed in the Supreme Court by Ejike Oguebego-led PDP Anambra State Executive Committee.

The apex court was to determine who were the legal and validly nominated candidates of the party to stand for the next month’s general elections for the party in the state.

Oguebego had in his Motion on Notice pursuant to Sec 17 of the Court of Appeal Act 2004 and Order 4 Rule 6 of Court of Appeal Rules 2011 seeking an order for stay of execution of the Court of Appeal verdict of Feb 6,2015 in suit ref CA/A/737/201 PDP vs Oguebego and 3 others, pending final determination of appeal brought by Oguebego and Okoye at the Supreme Court.

Oguebego and others also were seeking an order of injunction restraining the PDP and the Independent National Electoral Commission or any of their agents whatsoever from implementing that Court of Appeal verdict of Feb 6,2015, pending the determination of the appeal before the Supreme Court, and or any other order the court may deem necessary.

They also applied for an order for accelerated hearing of the appeal on order not to render the outcome a mere academic exercise.

Oguebego exco were said to be loyal to the leadership of Chief Chris Uba. They had held party primaries where Uba, Sen Annie Okonkwo and Prince John Emeka emerged the Anambra South, Central and North respectively. While Charles Odedo(Idemili), Julius Ofoma(Nnewi), Tony Offiah(Aguata) and others emerged candidates for the House of Representatives.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *