Ekiti Guber 2018: Al-Makura Heads APC Primary Poll C’ttee

The ruling APC has appointed Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State  as chairman of the Primary Election Committee to elect its flag bearer for the 2018 Ekiti State governorship election.

Amb. Fati Balla was also appointed to lead a three-member Primary Appeal Committee of the party.

The two committees were inaugurated yesterday in Abuja by the APC National Organising Secretary, Sen. Osita Izunaso, on behalf of the National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun.

The primary election holds today, Saturday, May 5.

Other members of the five-man primary election committee are Hon. Magaji Aliyu (Secretary); Mr. Duke Oshodin; Barr. Robert Okwuego and Mr. Tunde Balogun.

The appeal committee members are Capt. Bala Jibrin (Secretary) and Mrs. Lilian Obenwa.

Izunaso, who inaugurated the committees at the party’s national secretariat, said the APC was poised to win the Ekiti governorship election.

While charging the primary election committee to ensure a transparent exercise, he pointed out that the party had no preferred candidate.

He urged the committees to rely on the party’s guidelines for the nomination of candidates for public office, particularly Section 14 (iii) which stipulates the composition of the electoral college/delegates, secret balloting at a venue in the state capital and declaring the winner as the aspirant with the highest votes.

Izunaso, who said all the 33 aspirants had been cleared by the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) to contest the primaries, urged the primary election committee to convene a stakeholders meeting with aspirants and party chieftains to agree on modalities for the primaries.

Al-Makura, who spoke on behalf of the committees, thanked the party for considering them worthy to carry out the assignment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *