I Didn’t Sign Ndume’s Suspension From Senate – Omo-Agege Reveals

Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, representing Delta Central in the Senate has revealed that he didn’t append his signature to the suspension of Senator Ali Ndume because he was never in support of the action.

It will be recalled that Ndume, who represents Borno south, had been suspended in March 2017 for allegedly embarrassing Senate President Bukola Saraki and Dino Melaye, senator representing Kogi west.

Omo-Agege, who was recently suspended by the Senate was part of the senate committee on ethics and privileges which recommended Ndume’s suspension.

Writing via his Twitter handle, the Senator revealed that despite being a member of the committee, he did not sign the report endorsing Ndume’s suspension.

He said the lawmakers that supported the suspension were of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with the exception of one All Progressives Congress (APC) senator. Ndume is of the APC.

“A lot has been said on social media about me being part of a committee that recommended 6 months suspension for senator Ali Ndume, I have this to say; Being part of a committee does not necessarily mean one must approve whatever the report of the committee is,” he wrote.

“For the purpose of setting the records straight, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege refused to sign the report that facilitated the suspension of senator Ali Ndume.

“Available facts shows that of the 13-member committee, only seven signed the report, with six of them being members of the PDP.

“The only senator elected on the platform of the APC who signed the report was Tayo Alasoadura. Not even the Vice Chairman of the Committee, Senator Bala Na’Allah, signed the report. Ndume was elected on the platform of the APC.

“Senators elected on the platform of the PDP who signed the report were Samuel Anyanwu (Chairman), Obinna Ogba (Ebonyi), Jeremiah Useni (Plateau), Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta), Matthew Urhoghide (Edo), Mao Ohuabunwa (Abia).

“Apart from Senator Bala Na’allah, APC senators who did not sign the report were Omogunwa Yele, Muhammed Shittu, Ovie Omo-Agege and Binta Garba.”

Omo-Agege was at the centre of the mace theft incident that rocked the National Assembly last week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *