Katsina: Governor Masari Swears In 13 Commissioners

imageThe Katsina State governor, Aminu Bello Masari, yesterday swore in 13 commissioners and members of the state executive council, with a charge on them to work for the realisation of the change agenda promised by the ruling All Progressives Congress(APC).

Speaking shortly after the commissioners took the oath of office, Masari said his administration would not shirk the responsibility of providing education, agriculture, health, water supply and security to the people.

The governor warned that any of the commissioners who failed to live up to the demands of his office, would be removed.

He pointed out that in the face of dwindling resources, all hands must be on deck to boost the state’s internally generated revenue so as to effectively provide the needed services to the people.

“This government is anchored on service delivery and we will ensure just that so as to transform Katsina state,” Masari said.

He tasked the appointees to justify the confidence reposed in them by being committed to the task of supporting the change agenda, saying “there is no going back in the promise we made to the people of Katsina state. We are determined to liberate Katsina state from the bondage of illiteracy and poverty.

“We pledged to provide leadership and not rulership; we will ensure we confront the menace of cattle rustling, Boko Haram, and all forms of criminality,” he added.

Masari said as part of his government’s commitment to boost security, his administration had spent over N400 million in the last five months to protect lives and property of the people of Katsina state.

He assured that the government will do everything possible to lay a solid future for the youth, adding that, “we will not condone indiscipline or political harassment. We are here for service and we shall be just and fair to all manner of people in the state”.

Those sworn in were Mustapha Muhammad Kanti Bello (Resource Development); Abubakar Sada Ilu (Lands and Survey); Abubakar Yusuf (Commerce); Tasiu Salihu Dandagoro (Works); Mariyatu Bala Usman (Health); Salisu Gambo (Water Resources); and Muntari Abdulkadir (Finance).

Others are Prof. Halimatu Saadiya Idris (Education); Abdu Abubakar; Hamza Suleiman (Environment); Umar Ahmed Elmazruq (Justice); Hamza Muhammad (Information); and Abdulkadir Zakka (Local Government).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *