Niger Speaker, Others Impeached

imageNineteen out of twenty-five members of the Niger State House of Assembly, Tuesday, impeached the Speaker, Hon. Adamu Usman.

Also impeached are deputy speaker, Hon. Abdulraham Bala Gambo, Majority leader, Hon. Haruna Labaran and Chief Whip, Hon. Abdullahi Lawal.

The house also unanimously elected Hon. Isah Mohammed Kawu as the new Speaker.

Kawu was first elected Speaker in 2012 but was impeached after one legislative week.

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker commended his colleagues for honour done him.

APC accuses Jonathan of setting traps for Gen. Buhari
He also called for people’s understanding and appealed that no erroneous meaning be read to the change in leadership of the house.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *