Nigerians Top Finalist List For CNN African Journalist Awards

imageFive Nigerians have been named as finalists for the 2015 edition of the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year awards, which features a total of 31 finalists from 15 countries.

The five Nigerians on the shortlist are Punch newspaper’s Femi Asu and Arukaino Umukoro; Premium Times editor, Ibanga Isine; Tribune newspaper’s Adewale Emosu and Kọ́lá Túbọ̀sún, a blogger at

Kenya came closest to Nigeria with four nominations.

The 2015 competition received entries from 39 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

Ferial Haffajee, chair of the independent judging panel, who announced the shortlist, said the competition is in its 20th year.

Tony Maddox, the vice president and managing director of CNN International who spoke regarding the competition, said CNN is privileged to be involved in the initiative.

“The quality and breadth of entries in this, its 20th, year is testament to the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards’ position as the most prestigious recognition for journalism across the continent,” he said.

“CNN is privileged to be involved in this important initiative to honour the outstanding work across multiple platforms, topics and journalistic disciplines. I salute the finalists for the great work that they have done and look forward to seeing their future achievements.”

According to Greg Beitchman, the vice president, content sales and partnerships, CNN International, this 20th edition Gala scheduled to hold in Nairobi in October, will feature last year’s winners.

“This year’s ceremony promises to be a stellar moment in the long history of the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards.

“A combination of the strong body of work to be showcased at the 2015 awards, the presence of a number of former winners and the backdrop of the vibrant city of Nairobi will make for an evening that celebrates the very best of African journalism.”

Fiifi Essilfie Anaman, Freelance for, Ghana

Benedicta Asiimwe, Freelance for Daily Monitor, Uganda

Femi Asu, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Domingos Bento,, Angola

Thomas Naadi Bitlegma, Viasat1, Ghana

Sheriff Bojang Jnr, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal

Ruth Butaumocho, The Herald, Zimbabwe

Ibrahima Diallo, Radiodiffusion Télévision Sénégalaise (RTS), Senegal

Adewale Olugbenga Emosu,, Nigeria

Chahinaz Samir Gheith, Freelance for Al-Ahram Hebdo, Egypt

Carla Gonçalves, A Nação, Cape Verde

Boldwill Hungwe, Zimbabwe Independent, Zimbabwe

Ibanga Isine, Premium Times Newspaper, Nigeria

Paul Kelemba, Freelance for The Standard on Saturday, Kenya

Deo Gratias Tchédé Kindoho, Radio Bénin, Benin

Julie Laurenz & Jacqueline Jayamaha, Freelance for, South Africa

Petride Mudoola, Freelance for Sunday Vision, Uganda

Abubakari Akida Mussa, Mtanzania Newspaper, Tanzania

Pedro Paxi Pereira Ndoma, TV Zimbo, Angola

George Oduor Otieno, Baraka FM, Kenya

Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou, L’Observateur Paalga, Burkina Faso

Enock Sikolia & Charles Kariuki, NTV, Kenya

Arison Tamfu, Cameroon Journal, Cameroon

Kọ́lá Túbọ̀sún, Blogger at,

Nigeria Arukaino Umukoro, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique

Herman Verwey, Beeld, South Africa

Kiundu Waweru, The Standard on Saturday, Kenya

Sarah Wild, Mail & Guardian, South Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *