NSE To Honour Jega, 21 Others Today

imageThe Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) will on Thursday honour Prof. Attahiru Jega the immediate past Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), with the NSE Special Merit Award.

The award is in recognition of Jega’s successful contribution to the development of Nigeria’s electoral process.

This was contained in a statement issued on Wednesday in Abuja by Mr Abdulkadir Aliyu, Head of Media and Publications, Nigerian Society of Engineers.

The statement said the award would be bestowed on Jega and others at the NSE 2015 3rd Quarterly Dinner and Conferment of Fellowship scheduled to hold in Lagos on Thursday.

It added that the NSE Special Merit Award would be presented to the National Power Training Institute of Nigeria (NAPTIN) and the National Airspace Management Agency (NAMA) and Spectrum Engineering Limited.

According to the statement, the award is in recognition of the performance of the organisations’ in their respective mandates to the expectation and satisfaction of the society.

It said the fellowship title of the NSE would be bestowed on 18 engineers who had been found worthy of the honour based on their contributions to the growth of engineering profession.

NSE President, Mr Ademola Olorunfemi, said in the statement that “we appreciate Jega’s principled and focused leadership style which paid off after the elections.

“It is unforgettable how he redeemed Nigeria’s image within the comity of nations.

“Prof. Jega introduced technology in our electoral process and resisted the attempts to discredit it.

“He stood firm on integrity in the face of avalanche of intimidation and remained calm under unbridled last minute provocation. His innovation and courage are worthy of celebration,” he said.

The statement explained that the NSE dinners had served as veritable platforms for robust interaction among engineers and other professionals as well as major players in the various sectors of the economy.

It said the NSE had sustained the conferment of fellowship and merit awards on deserving engineers and members of the public respectively, as a major feature of the quarterly dinners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *