UPDATED: “Mr Fix-it”, Tony Anenih ‘Resigns’ As PDP BoT Chairman

imageChief Tony Anenih, chairman of the board of trustees (BoT) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has resigned.

Anenih’s resignation has been confirmed and accepted by the national working committee (NWC) of the the party, which said it was on “personal grounds”.

“In accepting the resignation, the NWC noted the outstanding contributions of Chief Anenih in the party over the years, especially in his capacity as the board of trustees chairman,” it said in a statement by Adewale Oladipo, its national secretary.

“As one of the founding fathers of the PDP, the NWC appreciates Chief Anenih’s guiding role in the party in the last 16 years and wish him well in his future endeavours.

“Consequent upon the resignation, the secretary of the board of trustees, Senator Walid Jibrin, holds forth pending the election of a new BoT chairman.”

Earlier after the 339th meeting of its national working committee, the party had said that it would make public on Thursday, “the correct position of the status of the chairman of the board of trustees of the PDP”.

After the meeting, PDP said it “received and accepted the voluntary resignation of the national chairman of our great party, Ahmadu Adamu Mu’azu”.

“Consequently, in line with the provisions of Sections 45 (2) of the PDP constitution, the deputy national chairman, Prince Uche Secondus, acts in place of the national chairman pending a replacement from the north east zone,” it said.

“On the correct position of the status of the chairman of the board of trustees of the PDP, Chief Tony Anenih, the NWC will make its position public tomorrow, Thursday, May 21, 2015.

“Furthermore, the NWC expressed complete confidence of the party in the national publicity secretary, Chief Olisa Metuh and commended him for his outstanding performance, exemplary commitment and sacrifices, particularly in the ways and manner with which he conducts the affairs of the publicity directorate in projecting the positive image of the party and its government.”

The statement also announced the setting up of a seven-man disciplinary committee headed by Micheal Addul, and also comprising Mike Ogiadohme, Teslim Folarin, Akilu Indabawa, Hassan Kafayas, Nonye Nwangwu as members, and Tony Caesar Okeke as secretary.

The committee will be inaugurated on Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at the National Secretariat. The NWC “called for calm and the understanding of all members and other critical stakeholders, including the media, at this time of re-engineering process in our great party while directing any member with genuine grievance to channel such through the appropriate organs”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *