Court Dethrones Lagos Monarch

Oba Micheal Gbadebo Onakoya the Orijeru of Igboye in Epe Local Government Area, was yesterday dethroned by a Lagos State High Court sitting in Igbosere.

Justice Iyabo Kasali restrained Onakoya from parading himself as the monarch and Orijeru of Igboyeland of Epe Local government.

Justice Kasali gave the order while delivering judgement in a suit filed by representatives of Ewade Ruling House‎ who were contesting the nomination and crowning of the monarch.

It would be recalled that Justice Habib Abiru‎, who has now been elevated to the Court of Appeal, had earlier in 2008 in his judgement in a suit no ID/1472/1992 filed representatives of the Erelu and Osikadewa Ruling Houses dethroned the embattled monarch from the stool of Orijeru of Igboyeland.

Justice Abiru declined to stay execution of his judgment in a ruling delivered on October 15, 2009 and likewise the trio of Justices C.C. Nweze, R.N. Pemu and F.O. Akinbami of the Court of Appeal on February‎ 27, 2013 in different applications filed by the deposed monarch.

Also in her judgement Wednesday, Justice Kasali, declared the nomination of the second defendant, Onakoya, to the stool of Orijeru of Igboye as illegal and of no effect.

‎The trial judge declared that the second defendant (Micheal Gbadebo Onakoya) is not a member of the Ewade Ruling House of Igboye and is not entitled to be nominated to the stool of the Orijeru of Igboye.

The court granted an order of perpetual injunction restraining‎ the second defendant from parading himself as a member of Ewade Ruling House of the said Igboye or presenting himself for the stool of Orijeru of Igboye on the platform of Ewade Ruling House.

The judge also gave an order of perpetual injunction restraining all the other defendants from recognising the second defendant as a member of Ewade Ruling House of Igboye.

The claimants in the suit are Alhaji M A Q‎uadri, Chief Dauda Kadiri and Mrs Oladipe Otunowo for themselves and as representatives of Osekelu branch of Ewade Ruling House.

Others are Chief Gbenro Otunowo, Mr Yemisi Adegboyega and Mrs Adeleke Ogunnubi, for themselves and as representatives of Okuyemi/Okuboyejo branch of Ewade Ruling House.

The defendants, aside from the second defendants, are Head of the Ewade Ruling House, Otunba Abdulwasiu Musa-Adebamowo‎, Lagos State government and Attorney General of Lagos State.

Justice Kasali dismissed the 35 point averments of the second defendant contained in his amended statement of defence and counter claims filed through his counsel, ‎Babatunnde Oshilaja.

The trial judge also described as fraudulent, the documents used by the deposed monarch for his nomination, selection and subsequent recognition by government‎ for the stool of Orijeru of Igboyeland.

She agreed that the claimants were not aware of nor participated in the meetings purportedly held by the Ewade Ruling House‎ in August, 1991, which culminated in his unlawful nomination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *