AFRIMA 2022: Jury Arrives Lagos For Adjudication

Guy Neza, AFRIMA Juror representing Western Africa 

As Six New Jurors Get Appointed

As the #RoadToAFRIMA2022 swings in full gear, the official jury for the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) have arrived Lagos, last Thursday, for an 8-day adjudication which would herald the list of nominees for this year’s edition. 

The AFRIMA jury is composed of a 13-member panel, with two jurors representing each of the five regions; as well as two other jurors representing North America and Europe, respectively; and a representative from the African Union Commission (AUC).

Following the adjudication process, a world media announcement of the nominees will take place on Wednesday, August 24, 2022 to publicly unveil the nominees. A week after, the AFRIMA Voters Academy, as well as music fans and followers around the globe will begin to participate in the public voting process, which will be held on the AFRIMA website Nominees with the highest votes would emerge winners in their respective categories.

The technical and public voting process, which closes 24 hours before the awards ceremony, would be monitored and audited by a reputable international auditing firm, PricewaterhouseCoopers.

In a related development, the International Executive Committee of All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA), in partnership with the African Union Commission (AUC) has appointed six new jurors from different African countries to its jury panel, with a view to bolster the dynamism and inclusiveness of its adjudication operations. 

Joining the extant jury panel from the West African region is Mr. Motolani Alake, a seasoned music critic, journalist and Editor-in-Chief, from Nigeria, as well as Mr. Guy Neza, an acclaimed music record executive,music and event production consultant and strategist from Côte d’Ivoire. They replace the former jurors Mr. Olisa Adibua from Nigeria, as well as Mr. David Tayorault from Côte d’Ivoire. Mr Olisa Adibua, who is also an associate producer at AFRIMA, has also been elevated and confirmed as the executive in charge of the Jury/Adjudication.

Motolani Alake AFRIMA Juror representing Western Africa 
Camille Storm, AFRIMA Juror representing Eastern Africa 

Joining the East African section of the jury is Ms Angela Kariuki, better known as Camille Storm, a leading Kenyan A&R/PR professional and journalist. She replaces Mr Tabu Osusa, a prolific music producer and veteran record executive from Kenya who has been on the AFRIMA Jury since 2014.

On the Central African axis, Mr. Emile Ngomba, a seasoned music executive and producer, from Cameroon who is reputable for nurturing budding talents to global superstars for over three decades. He replaces Mr Robert Ekukole, a veteran media practitioner from Cameroon who has selflessly served as a member of the AFRIMA jury for eight years.

Emil Ngumbah, AFRIMA Juror representing Central Africa

Joining the Southern African arm of the jury is Mr. Adam Tiran, an acclaimed record executive, DJ and radio host, from South Africa.

Lastly, joining the Northern African section of the jury is Mr. Hossam El-Gamal, an Egyptian music executive, and Vice President of the popular African streaming service Anghami.

Adam Tiran, AFRIMA Juror representing Southern Africa 
Adam Tiran, AFRIMA Juror representing Southern Africa 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *