LASU VC, Olatunji-Bello, Bags Award of Excellence From Igbogbo Kingdom, Ikorodu

The Igbogbo town, in Ikorodu, stood still for the Vice Chancellor, Lagos State University, Prof. Ibiyemi Ibilola Olatunji-Bello on Sunday, 20th November 2022 as the traditional ruler of the Kingdom, HRM, Oba Barr. Abdulsemiu Orimadegun Kasali conferred on her, the Year 2022 Adeboruwa Award of Excellence at the 2022 Igbogbo Day Celebration.

The monarch conferred the honour on the professor of Physiology and second female Vice Chancellor of LASU for her excellent performance as Vice Chancellor, which is undoubtedly a chariot in the realisation of the T.H.E.M.E.S Agenda of Mr Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu, the Governor of Lagos State.
The award was also a testament to her forthrightness and empathy in the discharge of the management of the University.

The Adeboruwa Award of Excellence symbolises a loud recognition and applause for the transformational leadership of Prof. Olatunji-Bello under whose guidance LASU has flourished in the last fourteen months.

The Bursar, Mr Said Babatunde Olayinka; the University Librarian, Dr Emmanuel Layi Adebayo; Deputy Registrar, Vice Chancellor’s Office, Dr Lateef Sekoni, who represented the Registrar, the Director, ICT, Prof. Toyin Enikuomehin, and Special Assistant to the VC, Dr Lateef Salami. amongst others, joined their boss to celebrate the Amazon.

The VC is joined by other functionaries of her administration

Presenting the award the VC, Oba Kasali said “We appreciate your humility and your love for our kingdom and our youth. We are very happy with you and we thank God for your life. May you not become too big in your own eyes.”

In her response, the VC dedicated the honour to the entire youth of Igbogbo town and all LASU students and promised to continue to do her best for the upliftment of youths in society.

Some other prominent Lagosians honoured in the same category included Senator Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru, Senator, Lagos East Senatorial District; Hon. Babajimi Benson, Member, Federal House of Representatives; Hon. Moyo Ogunlewe, Chairman, Kosofe Local Government; Oluwadamilola Emmanuel, General Manager, Lagos State Waterways Authority, amongst others.

Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Prof. Olufunsho Omobitan and a former dean of the Faculty of Science, Prof. Michael Ajetunmobi were also honoured with Adeboruwa Outstanding Indigenous Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *